South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Broken String On Serve
by Bill Walker

Q: If player A serves and in doing so breaks a string, assuming the serve was in, does the server get a let and thus getting a backup racket and playing point over? Is their any other rules surrounding broken strings?

A: If the server's string breaks when hitting a serve that goes in, he must finish that point with the broken string, just like any other time during a rally. If the server breaks a string in serving a first service fault, he may replace his racquet immediately, but only gets one serve. The fault stands, but he may serve the second service with the replacement racquet. If the receiver breaks a string hitting a first service fault, and replaces his racquet, the server gets two serves.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Hanes.com