South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Incorrect service order in tiebreaker.
by Anonymous

Q: During a tiebreaker, our opponent served in the incorrect order. We caught the error after the first point of the tie-break (they lost the point). They tried to claim a let. We had them serve in the correct order and let the point stand. Were we correct?

A: No let. The point stands and the service order of your opponents should remain as altered for the rest of the tie-break. Regarding order of service, the Rules of Tennis state, "If a player has completed his turn of service the order of service shall remain as altered. If the error is discovered before a player has completed his turn of service the order shall be corrected immediately and any points already played shall count." A "turn of service" in the tie-break is the first point, and each two points thereafter.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Low Carb