South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Touching the net post
by Anonymous

Q: During Wimbledon, a singles player touched the net post to help right himself while the ball was in play. Isn't that the same penalty as touching the net? (In other words, the point ended there?) I was surprised the chair did not call it since it happened right in front of him. He ended up losing the point but it wasn't because he touched the net post.

A: If singles sticks were in use, the player is allowed to touch the net, or net post (outside the singles stick). If no singles sticks are in use, it is a "touch", and the player loses the point.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
TD Clearance