South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Serve called out by Server, or partner
by Anonymous

Q: I've heard complaints about receivers who play serves which are very obviously out. The serving team sometimes does not respond because it was so obviously out. And that can give the receivers a bit of an advantage. The CODE says "If the receiver plays a first service that is a fault and does not put the return in play, the server or server's partner may make the fault call." What does this mean, exactly? It seems to mean that if the receivers don't make the call and hit the ball out, the servers can make the call instead.

A: True. It is called courtesy . . . They may not call a serve out if the receiver returns the ball INTO the court.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Fun Gifts 125x125 (non anim)