South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Doubles serve hits opponent at net
by anonymous

Q: The net player on the receiving team was standing close to the "T" on the service line. The serve is wide - no question it would be out - but it hits the net player instead. Point for the serving team?

A: Serving team wins the point. Even if the receiver's partner was standing behind the baseline; if the serve hits him before it hits the ground, they lose the point. Exception is if the serve hits the net cord, then hits the receiver or his partner before hitting the ground. In that case, "Let" serve.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
125x125_gidiet_1