South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Opponent calls their 'good' ball out
by Anonymous

Q: I played against an opponent who was in the habit of calling her own shots "out" as in "oh god, I hit that out." and then the ball lands right on the line. While a player should always cover the ball while it bounces, I tend to hesitate whenever I hear an "out" call on the court and as a result, I miss making my own shot. Is there any guidance in this situation?

A: This would be a "Hindrance", and if you stop play (not return the ball) you can claim the point. Reference #33 of "The Code"

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Match.com