South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Fail to Change Sides in Tiebreak
by SBGP Player

Q: A tiebreak is being played and the score is 9-9. No one remembers that this is a side change. I serve a ball that lands in, and the opponent subsequently calls a let because she figures out that we did not change sides. I believe we should have won that point because it was already in progress. Can the opponent call let for this reason after the ball was served ?

A: USTA Comment 27.1 states that "any such error (in this case, not changing ends) shall be rectified as soon as discovered but not while the ball is in play, and any points completed under the erroneous condition shall be counted." Your point.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
0424_nd_125x125v2ann.gif