South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official

Grunting and Self-Talk
by Anonymous

Q: How much noise can I (or my doubles partner) make on the court after hitting a shot? For example, sometimes I'll mis-hit the ball and say to myself "stay-in", that can probably be heard by my opponents. Do I have to wait for my opponents to complain, or is this simply bad tennis etiquette on my part?

A: A little of both... See #33 of The Code. If your talking truly interferes with their ability to make a shot, they may claim a hinderance (if they stop play before hitting the ball).

| Submit A Question |

Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."

South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •

Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Cure Duchenne