South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Receiver's partner in service box and moving
by Anonymous

Q: Can the receiver's partner stand in the service box, and when receiver is ready to receive, jump out of the way thus distracting the server... or is this an intentional hinderance.

A: This situation would be a judgement call by an umpire. Basically, the receiver's partner may position himself ANYWHERE in the court while his partner is ready to receive; and may feint with his body within reason. If an umpire feels his movement is meant solely to distract, a hinderance can be called, but great leeway is usually given here. If the receiver's partner is hit by the serve, of course, the server wins the point (and makes a statement...)

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Sheer Cover 125x125