South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Hat flies off
by Anonymous

Q: My hat flew off my head in the middle of a point. What is the correct thing to do? Call a let immediately? Do I lose the point?

A: A person whose hat (or anything worn or carried) falls off can NOT call a let, only the opponent can call a let, and it must be called immediately. If play continues (no let called immediately) then the hat (or, whatever) is considered part of the court. This occurance is known as a "hinderance". The rule book states, "If a player commits any act which hinders his opponent in making a stroke, he shall lose the point or if involuntary, the point shall be replayed".

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Banner 10000274