South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Is it legal in tournament play to change partners as the tournament progresses?
by Anonymous

Q: I recently witnessed a team begin play in a recent tournament with one set of players and they won the match. Then the next day, one of the players was the same, but his teammate was another player different from the previous day. This new team then went on to win the tournament.

A: It is not permissable to change partners after playing even one POINT with that partner in the tournament. A change of partner can only be made before the team plays, and then only if the change does not affect seeding. A change of partner that affects seeding can only be made before ANY play in that division has begun (and then only if the tournament director can re-do the draw).

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Banner