South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Switching Sides
by Anonymous

Q: This is a variation on the "wrong receiving sides" scenario. I know that if, in the middle of a game, it is discovered that the receiving team has (inadvertently or otherwise) switched sides, they should immediately switch back to their correct positions as soon as the mistake is discovered, and all points played up until that point stand. However, the other day during a doubles match, after the first point of the second set, the receiving team discovered that they had accidentally switched sides. Since a team is allowed to switch positions at the beginning of a new set, should it be assumed that the receiving team in this case officially chose to switch sides prior to the new set, or are they still allowed to correct their mistake and switch back to their former positions?

A: They must remain in their new positions for the remainder of that set; then they can switch back.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Banner