South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Good ball called out
by Adriana

Q: Opponent calls a good ball out shortly before it bounces. When the ball bounces the opponent's partner hits the ball and continues play. The opponent who called the ball out corrects the call and says it was good, my error, replay the point. Should the point be replayed or is it automatically the other teams point?

A: If a player mistakenly calls a ball "out" and then realizes it was good, the point shall be replayed if the player returned the ball within the proper court. Nonetheless, if the player's return of the ball results in a weak "sitter", the player should give the opponent the point. If the player failed to make the return, the opponent wins the point. If the mistake was made on a second serve, the server is entitled to two serves.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
PETsMART Dog Food Calculator