South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Missing Game
by Anonymous

Q: After a league doubles match, all four players shook hands at the net, as is customary after a match is completed, and walked over to their respective bags to pack up. However, one of the players then realized that they had missed a game in the final set, and that instead of the final set score being 6-3, it was actually 5-3 (one player had missed their service game, so there had only been one game played between changeovers instead of two, but everybody at the time had thought that the player who had missed their service game had actually won their serve). Does the winning team keep their win, or do both teams have to go back on the court and resume play from 5-3?

A: Once both teams have accepted that the match is complete, the match is complete.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
$99 4-Room DIRECTV DVR w/TiVo logo - Get It Direct