South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


The Spin on Underspin
by Paul

Q: After chopping at my opponents serve, the heavily underspun ball landed in my opponents court and quickly bounced back over to my side. He said we would have to replay the point since he had no opportunity to play the ball. Is this a 'let' or should someone be awarded the point?

A: You win the point! The player may even reach over the net to hit the ball after it landed on their side and bounced back to your side, but it must be touched before it lands on your side of the net. Not a let!

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
125x125_gidiet_1