South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Over the Net Play
by Rene'ne

Q: How much can a player's body be over the net (without touching the net) when performing an overhead slam or volley? Does this player have to wait for the ball to completely cross the net before he can attack the ball?

A: A player loses the point if the ball is hit before it has completely crossed the net (Rule 20-f). The racquet or the body may cross over (but not touch) the net (or the court) on the follow through.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
PETsMART Dog Food Calculator