South Bay Grand Prix
South Bay Grand Prix
Ask The Official


Is it my 'fault'?
by Anonymous

Q: My first serve hits the net and then - on the fly - hits my opponent in the chest. Let or fault?

A: Take two. If it strikes him on the fly, it's a let, even if the ball hits the net, flies all the way to the baseline and bounces off his chest. If he's not quick enough to get out of the way of a let serve, it's his fault, not yours.

| Submit A Question |


Jim Flood Jim Flood has been a USTA Professional Tennis Official for many years and has officiated at many of the biggest and most prestigious USTA professional tournaments, including the U.S. Open. He is also a computer instructor and multimedia specialist and also fills his spare time as a commercial actor and voiceover artist. Jim's motto is: "Play by the rules."


South Bay Grand Prix  •  , , CA  •   •  info@southbaygrandprix.com


Gamma Racquet Sports
Brady Tennis Camp
Levchenko Tennis Shop
Yonex
Cure Duchenne
Clearance Sale